I ♥ Cambodia

You never visit tourist sites near where you live. They don’t hold the same appeal when you drive past them every day and are loathe to pay the extortionate entrance fees to shuffle around with hoards of ignorant tourists. But you still want the photos, just so you can say “I’ve been there”. A few weeks ago, my friend Alisa had a vision. A vision with a mission: to buy “I ♥ Cambodia” t-shirts and have a photoshoot throughout the city, capturing Phnom Penh’s touristy, funny, and bizarre personality.

Alisa appointed me chief photographer (I have my nice camera here and this was all that was needed to qualify for the position), so I charged my battery, wiped the memory card, and was ready to go! There were seven of us in total: Alisa the visionary, Rachel, Hallie, Kath, Molly, Chloe and myself. We met at the Russian Market to buy our t-shirts, a task which took longer than necessary as we wanted all the shirts to be white, and then returned to our apartment to change into our outfits!

To be honest, there isn’t much more left to say as I think the following pictures eloquently tell the story of our afternoon gallivanting around Phnom Penh. Thank you to Alisa for the idea, it was so much fun! It was great to spend time getting to know these girls better and we giggled most of the day. Special thanks to our tuk tuk lady who not only ferried us around all afternoon, with Rachel perched on the tip of the tuk tuk, but acted as occasional photographer too. Oh and in case you’re wondering what happened to Rachel’s leg, there was an altercation with her calf and a hot moto exhaust. The exhaust won.

So if you’ve never been to Phnom Penh, and you’re wondering what the city is like, here it is summed up in 23 amazing photographs:

Ready to go on the balcony of our apartment. L to R: me, Rachel, Hallie, Alisa, Chloe, Molly, Kath

Ready to go on the balcony of our apartment. L to R: me, Rachel, Hallie, Alisa, Chloe, Molly, Kath

Independence Monument. L to R: Hallie, Alisa, Chloe, Rachel, Molly, Kath

Independence Monument. L to R: Hallie, Alisa, Chloe, Rachel, Molly, Kath

Wat Phnom. L to R: Chloe, Molly, Hallie, Alisa, Rachel, me, Kath

Wat Phnom. L to R: Chloe, Molly, Hallie, Alisa, Rachel, me, Kath

Wat Phnom. L to R: Hallie, Alisa, Chloe, Kath, me, Rachel, Molly

Wat Phnom. L to R: Hallie, Alisa, Chloe, Kath, me, Rachel, Molly

Playground/exercise equipment at Riverside. L to R: Kath, Molly, me, Hallie, Chloe, Alisa

Playground/exercise equipment at Riverside. L to R: Kath, Molly, me, Hallie, Chloe, Alisa

Balloons!! L to R: Chloe, Rachel, me, Hallie, Molly, Kath, Alisa

Balloons!! L to R: Chloe, Rachel, me, Hallie, Molly, Kath, Alisa

Be a Child Safe Traveller! L to R: Rachel, Chloe, Molly, Alisa, Hallie, Kath

Be a Child Safe Traveller! L to R: Rachel, Chloe, Molly, Alisa, Hallie, Kath

Random pagoda near Riverside. L to R: me, Alisa, Molly, Chloe, Rachel, Kath

Random pagoda near Riverside. L to R: me, Alisa, Molly, Chloe, Rachel, Kath

Elephant pose! L to R: me, Rachel, Hallie, Chloe, Kath, Alisa

Elephant pose! L to R: me, Rachel, Hallie, Chloe, Kath, Alisa

Tuk Tuk! L to R: Molly, Alisa, Hallie, Kath, me, Rachel

Tuk Tuk! L to R: Molly, Alisa, Hallie, Kath, me, Rachel

The Royal Palace. L to R: me, Rachel, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Kath, Chloe

The Royal Palace. L to R: me, Rachel, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Kath, Chloe

Balloons for King Norodom Sihamoni's 62nd birthday. L to R: me, Alisa, Chloe, Kath, Hallie, Rachel

Balloons for King Norodom Sihamoni’s 62nd birthday. L to R: me, Alisa, Chloe, Kath, Hallie, Rachel

More balloons for the king! Front to back: Rachel, Kath, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Chloe

More balloons for the king! Front to back: Rachel, Kath, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Chloe

Central Market (Psar Thmei). L to R: Chloe, Molly, Hallie, Alisa, Kath, Rachel

Central Market (Psar Thmei). L to R: Chloe, Molly, Hallie, Alisa, Kath, Rachel

Irony. L to R: Chloe, Alisa, Kath, Hallie, Molly, Rachel

Irony. L to R: Chloe, Alisa, Kath, Hallie, Molly, Rachel

King Norodom Sihanouk statue in Hun Sen Park. L to R: me, Alisa, Chloe, Rachel, Molly, Hallie

King Norodom Sihanouk statue in Hun Sen Park. L to R: me, Alisa, Chloe, Rachel, Molly, Hallie

Pillar posing! L to R: Hallie, Rachel, Alisa, Kath, Molly, Chloe

Pillar posing! L to R: Hallie, Rachel, Alisa, Kath, Molly, Chloe

More pillar posing. L to R: me, Rachel, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Chloe, Kath

More pillar posing. L to R: me, Rachel, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Chloe, Kath

And again! L to R: me, Rachel, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Chloe, Kath

And again! L to R: me, Rachel, Alisa, Hallie, Molly, Chloe, Kath

Teddy bear time! L to R: Alisa, Hallie, Kath

Teddy bear time! L to R: Alisa, Hallie, Kath

Where it all began (and ended), the Russian Market (Psar Toul Tom Poung). L to R: Chloe, Molly, Alisa, Kath, Hallie, Rachel

Where it all began (and ended), the Russian Market (Psar Toul Tom Poung). L to R: Chloe, Molly, Alisa, Kath, Hallie, Rachel

Can you spot us all shopping on the north side of the market? L to R: Chloe, me, Molly, Kath, Rachel, Alisa

Can you spot us all shopping on the north side of the market? L to R: Chloe, me, Molly, Kath, Rachel, Alisa

And finally, thank you Phnom Penh, I love you! L to R: Molly, me, Alisa, Hallie, Kath, Rachel, Chloe

And finally, thank you Phnom Penh, I love you! L to R: Molly, me, Alisa, Hallie, Kath, Rachel, Chloe

Categories: Cambodia, Expat, Friends, Mission, phnom penh, Photography, Photoshoot, Tourism, Travel, Vision | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “I ♥ Cambodia

  1. This is an awesome idea! It makes me want to get a group of friends together and do the same thing in Sydney 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

