Sovann Komar – My workplace in Cambodia

“I had lunch with one of the mums at the orphanage today”. Sounds like an oxymoronic statement if ever there was one! Except when referring to Sovann Komar, the orphanage in Cambodia where I work. I realised that I had been frequently referencing this NGO without providing most the readers of this blog with a thorough overview of this unique enterprise. So here goes:

Sovann Komar, or Golden Children in Khmer, was co-founded in 2003 by the Khmer director, Sothea Arun, and American philanthropist, Elizabeth Ross Johnson. Together these two remarkable individuals have created a beautiful, loving, safe environment within which fifty six children are growing and thriving.

Sovann Komar comprises of ten families – ten groups of children with a real Khmer couple as their adoptive mother and father. The households range in size from nine children to five and these nuclear families each live in beautiful, spacious, homely houses, arranged in a U shape around the outskirts of the Sovann Komar “village”.

Keith proudly standing outside his home

Keith proudly standing outside his home

The compound also contains the school, the organisation’s offices, a doctor’s clinic, a restaurant, a performance area, two large grassy play spaces, a playground, and we are in the process of building larger houses for some of the families which are in need of more space as their children grow. As well as looking after the fifty six children who originally came to Sovann Komar, many of the couples have subsequently had their own, biological children. These sons and daughters have been embraced by their older brothers and sister and many very close bonds exist between these children.

Monkeying around during break time

Monkeying around during break time

The path and houses surround the central playing field to the left

The path and houses surround the central playing field to the left

P1040141

The main playing field

The main playing field

Most of the children who are lucky enough to call Sovann Komar their home were orphaned or abandoned at a very young age. Any information about their background has been recorded so these children may learn about their past as and when they wish to. Some of the elder children were taken from state orphanages, notorious for their poor treatment of children and the directors’ reputation for using the children as meal tickets. This is one of the main concerns for volunteers looking to find placements in Cambodia. Due to the large number of NGOs within the country, it can be very difficult to determine which are legitimate, honest, organisations. Luckily for me, I was offered a six month placement with Sovann Komar through Outreach International in 2009 and have never looked back. Not only are the children endearing, loving, open, funny, intelligent, charming, and happy individuals, but they are like this for one reason: the dedicated group of men and women who have worked tirelessly to give these lucky orphans (another oxymoron for you) the best chance at a good life.

Applying zombie make0up for the latest playground game

Colin applying Orlando’s zombie make0up for the latest playground game

Grade 6 studying hard! From left to right: Luccas, Sacha, Colin, and Orlando

Grade 6 studying hard! From left to right: Luccas, Sacha, Colin, and Orlando

Grade 6 discussing the word lists we made together

Grade 6 discussing the word lists we made together

My youngest student, Imara, Grade 3

My youngest student, Imara, Grade 3

Sovann Komar is helping even more children than it initially aimed to, including those outside the village. I now coordinate Sovann Komar Outreach Program for Education or SKOPE. Through this I organise regular trips to poor communities in the surrounding provinces  to donate school supplies, clothes, and toys, offer heath and hygiene training, build wells, toilet blocks and housing, and provide medical and dental care. Additionally, Sovann Komar is committed to raising environmental awareness and improving the village’s green status through tree planting, regular litter picks, and releasing fish into water sources both within the grounds of the orphanage itself, and the surrounding community.

The performance area at the rear of Sovann Komar's property where it backs onto the river Mekong

The performance area at the rear of Sovann Komar’s property where it backs onto the river Mekong

Education is one of Sovann Komar’s top priorities for the children. They have received an excellent standard of education from a very young age: they are educated within Sovann Komar until they reach Grade 1 or 2 (depending on the child). They then attend Beltei International School, a highly reputable school system within Phnom Penh. These half days at Beltei are supplemented by additional lessons within Sovann Komar in Khmer, computer studies, and English. The latter is where I come into play. On Thursdays and Fridays I teach six English classes for these children, all of whom I’ve come to know well over the past five years. I feel very lucky that I have been able to return to see how these children have grown, developed, and become the young people of whom Sovann Komar and Cambodia may be proud.

Every Monday morning and Friday afternoon, all the children gather for the respective flag raising and lowering ceremonies on the main playing field in the heart of Sovann Komar

Every Monday morning and Friday afternoon, all the children gather for the respective flag raising and lowering ceremonies on the main playing field in the heart of Sovann Komar

Cheeky monkeys en masse!  From left to right: Lucas, Aria, Mira, Imara, Dia, Noah, Sacha, Orlando, Colin

Cheeky monkeys en masse! From left to right: Lucas, Aria, Mira, Imara, Dia, Noah, Sacha, Orlando, Colin

The first three days of my week are spent in Sovann Komar’s onsite school, currently consisting of classes from Nursery up to Grade 4. Over 200 children now attend this school, all of whom come from the surrounding community. The cost of the school is means tested so families pay only what they can afford to ensure their children get a good education. The most disadvantaged families pay nothing, whilst the most wealthy pay merely $40 per month, a tiny amount compared to the charges of most international schools in Cambodia. Most pay $10 to $30 per month and for that bargain, their kids get to experience my excellent teaching … Well they get someone who can pronounce English words correctly, understands the differences between the tenses, and brings sweets to class as bribes to do well in their weekly spellings tests.

My Community Grade 3 class

My Community Grade 3 class

My Community Grade 4 class

My Community Grade 4 class

I am passionately committed to working for and helping this wonderful organisation. I hope that this blog entry and the pictures goes some way to explaining why I just can’t stay away! This weekend we are heading out to a rural community to donate school supplies. If you would like to contribute in any small way, please leave a comment below or click on this “donate” link. Anything you can give would be greatly appreciated. I myself am off to the market tomorrow to buy some exercise books, and a jumbo box of biros!

Imara, myself, and Lucinda

Imara, myself, and Lucinda

Categories: Cambodia, NGO, orphanage, school, Teaching, work | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Sovann Komar – My workplace in Cambodia

  1. Just great work that you’re doing. So inspiring. Thanks for the updates and hope you keep them coming.

    Like

    • Thank you very much! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog – I’m trying to keep the updates fairly regular and evenly spaced but there may well be another one up tomorrow about my holiday last weekend. Work hard, play hard right?

      Like

  2. Enjoying reading your adventures Ruth, glad you are having an amazing time x

    Like

  3. Seesee

    WOW. I volunteered with Sovann Komar in 2009… It’s been ages since I’ve been back to Cambodia. Lucinda was one of my favorite students. She must have been around 6 when I taught her. She’s all grown up now. I curious to see how the organization is going now. My co-worker and I were always worried about when the children would find out they’re “different” from other children.

    Like

  4. Seesee

    WOW. I volunteered with Sovann Komar in 2009… It’s been ages since I’ve been back to Cambodia. Lucinda was one of my favorite students. (I wonder how Theo, Ratchana, and Veesna are also..) She must have been around 6 when I taught her. She’s all grown up now. I curious to see how the organization is going now. My co-worker and I were always worried about when the children would find out they’re “different” from other children.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

